PDA

View Full Version : What Causes This?...

BCB
09-25-2010, 01:53 PM
This case is a 30-30 that has been turned into a 7-30 Waters...

It has been fired at least a half-dozen times from a T/C Contender...

The load was 32.5 grains of H-335 and the Hornady 120 V-Max bullet, no not a cast boolit, and I have been shooting this combo for a good many years. The bullet originally was the Hornady SSPSP but then became the V-Max--fancy tips sell to those who sometimes seek "chrome" on Harley's!!!

Anyhow, I wonder what caused this. I have never seen this with my own personal reloads in the entire time I have been reloading...

Thanks...BCB

sturf
09-25-2010, 02:28 PM
Appears to be a lube dent. Caused by using too much case lube durring sizing and or not cleaning it off. It builds up causing a dent. Should not hurt to fire the case.

ReloaderFred
09-25-2010, 02:49 PM
If it occurred during the sizing process, then it was caused by excess lube, but if it was caused when the round was fired, it was caused by the neck not sealing the chamber fully and pressure blew past the neck and dented the case.

Hope this helps.

Fred

BCB
09-25-2010, 02:50 PM
Appears to be a lube dent. Caused by using too much case lube durring sizing and or not cleaning it off. It builds up causing a dent. Should not hurt to fire the case.

I know this happens during sizing when too much lube is on the case...

BUT this is what the case looked like AFTER it was fired...

Is that still what you meant by having too much lube on the case?

I clean all of my cases after sizing in a water solution containing GoJo hand cleaner. There is no lube left on the case when it is loaded...

Thanks...BCB

44man
09-25-2010, 03:56 PM
Pressure got where it didn't belong.

gon2shoot
09-25-2010, 05:00 PM
Yup, had blow-by.

high standard 40
09-25-2010, 05:13 PM