PDA

View Full Version : WHATZIT??? ID help, please

geargnasher
09-06-2010, 12:42 AM
Got some ingots, likely high tin content, dross inclusions look like radiator shop drippings, density 7.95 g/mL, BHN 9.8 (aged, I'm sure, not that it matters if it's binary Pb/Sn).

I know it could be about 80/20 Sn/Pb, but I don't know if that jives with the BHN.

The alloy has a slight, light grey oxide and small, wrinkly dross formations from the ladle tails which is reminiscent of WW alloy, meaning to me some antimony content, but they don't ring, just kind of a dull tinkle.

I have some known, tested 63/37 ingots that are shiny and check 9.2 with the same tester. Pure tin ingot is off the chart to the soft end with the Lee tester, guessing it's about 6.8 or so by the .086" indent.

Any ideas on this without doing multivariable calculus on it? My main problem is I have little experience testing hardness of high-tin alloys, so I don't know what numbers to expect. The density is correct for 80/20 Sn/Pb, and if the hardness of 9.8 matches, then that's close enough for me.

Thanks in advance for any input,

Gear

sagacious
09-06-2010, 07:07 PM
My math shows that your SG of 7.95 indicates approx 78% Sn content.

geargnasher
09-07-2010, 12:53 AM
Thanks, Sagacious, figured you'd be one of the few to weigh in. Thing is, 25% Pb/25%Sb/50%Sn has an SG of 8.1 g/mL (didn't do the math to make it exactly mimic 7.95) so that still doesn't help me much. I was hoping to narrow it down by the BHN, do you know if a hardness chart exists for Pb/Sn binarys in different proportions? Maybe solder companies?

Gear

sagacious
09-07-2010, 01:25 AM
Gear,
Yeah, I was just chiming-in with a SG/composition math confirmation. You are of course correct about the SD alone not being diagnostic. The rub is that the BHN may be equally non-specific for that SG. Wouldn't hurt to know, tho.