PDA

View Full Version : need some help

nail
08-26-2010, 10:11 AM
I am new to casting and I am having a hard time finding starting loads for different powders in any of my manuals, They are all for low velocity loads.
I am trying to get around 2100fps with a 210 gr gas check bullet for my 444 marlin, I am not asking anybody to stick there neck out and give me a load, I just want to know where I can find some data, can I use jacketed bullet data for cast to get me a starting point. Thanks Steve!!

44man
08-26-2010, 11:02 AM
That should be no problem at all but it is an awful light boolit and info is hard to find. My books only start at 225 gr but Hodgdon starts with a 200 gr bullet.
The starting loads for theses should be OK. 4198 might be best.

stubert
08-26-2010, 11:16 AM
You can use jacketed info, lead bullets have less friction, therefore less pressure, however jacketed loads may be faster than the lead bullet can handle.

44man
08-26-2010, 02:46 PM
You can use jacketed info, lead bullets have less friction, therefore less pressure, however jacketed loads may be faster than the lead bullet can handle.
True, they have to be pretty hard but the slower powders will give an easier start. Be fun working up and see what happens at each step.

MGySgt
08-26-2010, 07:50 PM

Excuse me but I have always heard/read the oposite.

Lead take less powder to reach the same velocity - because it has a better gas seal and it has a lubercant that the jacketed doesn't (hence more friction with the jacketed) aand more pressure when all other things are equal. boolit weight, seatring depth and podwer weight.

Check a few different manuals that list both cast boolits and the J ones and you will see that boolits with the same weight (or close (250 and 255) the lead will be faster with less powder.

For the 444 - Check out the Lyman manuals and the Hodgen site for starting loads for the weight and work up SLOWLY.