PDA

View Full Version : SAVAGE brand dies

burt2506
08-24-2010, 07:25 AM
Howdy all!! Just got pointed over here from 'the campfire and am looking for some information:

I have a set of SAVAGE branded FL dies in .30-30 that i am trying to place a value on. I would like to trade them but I have absolutely no idea what a fair price would be.

Any o you gents have any wisdom you can share???

thanks,
burt2506

wiljen
08-24-2010, 08:49 AM
I would check with a Savage collector as I suspect those could be worth substantially more as a collectors item than as a 30-30 die. I have been loading and going to gun shows for nearly 40 years now and have never seen a set of Savage made dies. A good place to start would be Savage99.com as they know most of the savage collectors and might point you in the right direction. The Antique reloading Forum might also be a good place (Floodgate are you listening?) You might PM floodgate, I'm not sure if he stops by here very often these days, but he has forgotten more about antique reloading tools than most of us will likely ever know.

As dies, 30-30 die sets go through here quite regularly for between $15 and $30 depending on brand and condition.

Pressman
08-24-2010, 09:22 AM
Do you have the original box and if so is it in good condition. Are the dies free of plier marks.
Nominal value, meeting the above criteria is 35-45 dollars. Savage made their own dies and they are of excellent quality.
Die collecting seems to be in its infancy yet, not many people are into them other than the Lyman 310 dies. It could be a fasinating field to specialize in as there are so many makes and variations.

Ken

218bee
08-24-2010, 09:37 AM
I agree a neat item....I would think if you have the box and it has nice graphics especially an Indian Head logo then ya got something....if just the dies probably not worth too much..maybe a guy with a 99 in 30/30 would like them

burt2506
08-24-2010, 03:46 PM
sorry guys, no box, just the dies.