PDA

View Full Version : Gummy BP lube residue

Dan Cash
08-23-2010, 02:26 PM
Yesterday I completed a BPCR match in high temperature (104 F). My lube that I have been using for a couple of years suddenly left me baffeled when I cleaned the rifle. In the past, using this lube, the gun has come clean with 4 or 5 wet patches; yesterday, I got a brownish tar like residue along with the carbon and 10 patches did not completely get the job done. This lubricant was made with 2 parts of bee's wax, 1 part canola oil, one part pure Neats-foot oil and 3 to 4 oz lanolin to a 4 pound batch of lube. This has worked exceedingly well for more than 2 years.

The residue reminded me of a bullet lube with which I experimented that had ATF in it. I did not believe the tales of misery from petroleum lubes mixed with black powder but learned my lesson.

Any suggestions regarding which part of my lubricant may be causing this tar like substance during high temp shooting?
Dan

Don McDowell
08-23-2010, 04:32 PM
What powder was you shooting?
The now defunct Elephant was good at leaving a mess, and Swiss will often times leave a hard red clay like smear in the barrel.
The neats foot oil and the canola oil together isn't needed. Might retry that lube with one or the other but not both and see how it reacts to the high temps and low humidity.

Dan Cash
08-23-2010, 05:13 PM
Don,
I use Goex FFg. I got to adding the Neats Foot to keep the lube more "plastic", for want of a better word, in cold weather. It also seemed to keep fouling moister in hot weather. We had no problem with it at Quigley, or Amidon this year but the temps never tipped over 95 or there about. Something in that last 10 degrees makes me and the gun uncomfortable but accuracy did not seem to fall off. I will try a batch of lube with only canola or neats foot and see what happens.
Thanks for the suggestions
Dan

waksupi
08-23-2010, 05:55 PM
What powder was you shooting?