PDA

View Full Version : Straight JPW - Impressed so far

colonelhogan44
08-17-2010, 12:16 AM
I tumble lubed some heated 356-120-TC bullets with a little dab of JPW, and loaded them in some .38 specials on top of 4.5 gr. of Green Dot. They all fired flawlessly from a .357 mag carbine, with no leading and a nice little star at the muzzle. It's cheap, easy, and leaves a hard, smooth coat on the bullet...no tack at all. I'm impressed so far.
:bigsmyl2:

Recluse
08-17-2010, 01:24 AM
We have a member here, Boerrancher, who has done some extensive testing of loads using nothing but straight JPW--and he's gotten some pretty impressive results.

Lube is a tool (what I always preach). The right tool with the right boolit with the right powder/load configuration in the right gun will give great results.

Keep experimenting with it--sounds like you're off to a good start.

:coffee:

randyrat
08-17-2010, 09:08 PM
I'm no lube expert, but I've learned a few things about it over the years.
If everything is perfect, boolit fit ect... One doesn't have to depend on a super lube to cover up a problem.
I've shot hundreds of 45 acp and even 40 cal with JPW boolits.... Not at nuke levels, just nice loads with out leading.
It would be interesting to see the limits of JPW

Doby45
08-17-2010, 09:14 PM
How is the smoke with just JPW? I take it this kinda similar to the Rooster Jacket liquid lube.

randyrat
08-18-2010, 06:59 AM
There is just enough to keep mosquitoes away if you can load magazines fast enough. Your legs get nailed, so i use repellent on my legs.
No large plooms of smoke like some lubes.
Load all the mags before you get out of your car and have your gear squared away before you hit the range and then it's possible to keep up with the the little blood suckers.

Among other lubes, i use some 40-45-10 (with a touch of beeswax to replace some of the Alox). Very low ploom if used right. Just enough to keep mosquitoes away. Some times the ploom of smoke depends on the "load"