PDA

View Full Version : Is this Pure Lead?

Surge223
07-26-2010, 04:07 PM
http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k107/surge223/017.jpg

I am only getting started in casting so I don't know what this is. A guy says it's pure lead. It's a 12" square sheet. Bends very easily.

http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k107/surge223/018.jpg

Can anyone give me any info on this stuff? How do I know it's lead? What was this used for?

He says he has a lot of it, what should I offer for it?

Thanks all.

lwknight
07-26-2010, 04:21 PM
Looks like roofing lead and it also looks like it probably is pure lead.
Roofing lead id pure lead. So most likely its pure lead.

a.squibload
07-26-2010, 04:27 PM
Someone here (Sagacious?) recently suggested that although soft, sheet lead is not necessarily pure.
Should be good stuff though. Haven't melted any yet, might have to cast a few to see how it turns out.
That looks like what I got only not as thick.
I haven't checked lead prices, when I got my sheet lead a month or more ago I paid 75¢/lb,
it was scrap at an army surplus store.
They gave me the bucket.

Muddy Creek Sam
07-26-2010, 04:29 PM
Should be close enough.

Sam :D

gray wolf
07-26-2010, 05:07 PM
What's up with the big X in the middle ?
Is that from some kind of radiation shielding ?

Small hardware store in town wants $2.59 a pound for sheet roofing lead. He can keep it
I just bought a 35 pound roll unused for 50 cents a pound from my friend.

Surge223
07-26-2010, 05:23 PM
I have no idea about the big "X". Guy brought in about 6 pieces to show me and they all have an "X" on them. Doesn't look like spray paint.

edsmith
07-26-2010, 05:35 PM
thats pirate lead, they used them to marke the spot. (treasure) and thats the truth. don't listen to those who say I am the worlds biggest liar.

Muddy Creek Sam
07-26-2010, 05:37 PM
Probably Glue residue, I have had some that looked like that, Some had silicon left on them.

Sam :D

gray wolf
07-26-2010, 07:14 PM