PDA

View Full Version : To fill, or not to fill - Dacron in 45-70 light loads

awaveritt
07-17-2010, 05:43 PM
Do you 45-70 afficianados use fillers with powders like 2400 and 4198? I did a search but seems like two schools of thought. I measured 25 and 30 grains of 2400 and poured them in 45-70 cases and it looks like they fill about 40% and 50%, respectively. Tilting it on its side and taking a look, seems to me this is no worse positioning than one gets with Bullseye in a 38 case, and that seems to work.

My goal is to load some trapdoor level rounds at around 1300 fps using my Lee 405gr RNFP boolits and Alliant 2400. Any load suggestions and what about the filler?

What say you?

6pt-sika
07-17-2010, 06:11 PM
When I started shooting cast bullets it was with a Marlin 1895CB in 45-70 . In the beginning all I used was PB bullets and SR4759 . SR4759 "can be" very position particular . And the charges I was using came no where near filling the case .

I originally had thoughts of using dacron fibers to keep the powder down on the primer , but was told by several different people that would eventually cause you to make a melted dacron ring in the barrel somewhere . SO I never tried the stuff . I would always point the barrel up and tap the stock to bring all the powder closer to the primer before shooting and it worked well for me . Later I changed to XMP5744 and this seemed less of an issue . Now I use H322 and barely have enough room to get all the powder I want in the case .

6pt-sika
07-17-2010, 06:13 PM
I loaded very light SR4759 loads with a PB bullet for an old original Trapdoor I have and again I raised the muzzle tapped the stock , leveled the rifle slowly and fired with no ill effects 8-)

6pt-sika
07-17-2010, 06:14 PM
Personally I think the best thing for you to use as a filler would be plain old toilet paper .

awaveritt
07-17-2010, 07:03 PM