PDA

View Full Version : .310 buckshot

1slowSVT
07-15-2010, 08:05 PM
Hello Guys, I am new to this site and to casting in general, I decided to start with buckshot, because I figured I could make a lot of mistakes and it wouldn't matter a lot. Anyway I asked on another forum about how many to load per shotshell (2 3/4 AA 12 gauge) and I was told that there is no such size and that I must be mistaken :) So I figured that you guys were probably the best bet, I am pretty new to shotgun loading, I've been loading .223, 45/70, 44 mag, 9mm, 45acp, blah blah blah, for years but not shotguns so I'm trying to decide how many pellets I should put in the shell to know what wad to order. My scale says 9 pellets weigh .86 of an ounce, 12 pellets weigh 1.14 of an ounce, and 15 weigh 1.42. I don't think that 15 will even fit. I am planning on ordering claybuster wads, I just dont know what size I need. Any help on this will be appreciated.

oldtoolsniper
07-15-2010, 08:50 PM
You really need to get one of Lyman's shot-shell reloading manuals. It is not that simple and I would not trust what someone you have never met just typed out on a message board. Buckshot loading is completely different from bird-shot.

DLCTEX
07-15-2010, 09:27 PM
+1 on the Lyman Shotshell Handbook. You will need a newer edition than my 3rd, edition to get any info on Claybuster wads. I have used 9 balls of .311 in shotshells with good results, but never with Claybuster wads.

StrawHat
07-16-2010, 06:02 AM
All the info you need is in the Lyman Manual. Changing components in shotshell loads can drastically alter pressures.

1slowSVT
07-16-2010, 07:31 AM
Hmmm, Well I guess you learn something new everyday, I thought that weight was weight in a shotgun and I didn't really realize that the kind of projectile mattered. I guess I will have to hunt down one of those reloading manuals. Thanks for the info guys

Bob Krack
07-16-2010, 07:58 AM