PDA

View Full Version : Soft lubes in the Star Lube sizer

plaz
07-08-2010, 07:20 PM
I am new at lube sizers.

Can some of you folks give me your opinions on soft lubes used in a Star Lube sizer? I understand that soft lubes eliminates the need for a heater on the Star unit. Is that the only advantage for soft lubes? Are there any disadvantages to using soft lubes in the Star?

MT Chambers
07-08-2010, 08:27 PM
I find that a very soft lube will "pass" easier and get on the front and rear of bullet until you play with punch depth and/or lube pressure. This happens more with slightly undersized or odd shaped bullets, that is why I prefer a somewhat harder lube.

HeavyMetal
07-08-2010, 09:02 PM
The "real" advantage to soft lubes is the lack of a heater plus the fact you will need a lot less pressure on the handle to get it to flow.

To give you an idea I just changed the die in my star to do a few 358429's for one of the site members to try out. Die will not move on these if your using a hard lube until they have some heat on them.

So I fired up the heater and waited a while for the star to get warm. Once it was ready I pushed the last boolit out of the 40 cal sizer die inserted my puller and removed the die.

Be aware that I had cranked the handle back a dozen or more turns to relieve pressure on the lube but even then I got strands of lube coming out the holes leading to the die chamber.

If this happens with a lube like Carnuba Red just imagine what a soft alox lube will do!

Soft lubes are also sticky and have a tendency to run in high temp enviromnts like southern California.

Base your choice of lube on where you are and what you want it to do.

thebigmac
07-08-2010, 09:24 PM
FWIW...Plaz; When you use a 'soft' lube, let them dry prior to storeing them. Whenever you get around to loading put a SMALL amount of baby powder in a container and put 35-50 boolits