PDA

View Full Version : CAR or mid length AR

Firebricker
06-28-2010, 07:26 PM
I was checking on 16" CAR upper reciever assembly's and a supplier suggested going mid length. He said the couple extra inches of gas tube would make it cycle smoother.

But I have also been told a heavier buffer will do the same thing. I'm totally new to AR's so I have no idea how big of a differance it would make.

So I'd like to know what you guy's think. I like the look's of the CAR length handguards better but that's no big deal much more concerned with which would better. Thank's in advance FB

Eagles6
06-28-2010, 07:43 PM
It's commonly said that the 5.56 round is optimal out of a 20 inch barrel and that problems that the military have is because they use the shorter barrel on the M4s.
Don't know if it's true but something to check out on the AR15 boards.

GabbyM
06-28-2010, 10:15 PM
I personally loath 16 inch barrel AR's. If length is that big a deal think about a 20" barrel with no flash hider. Deleting the flash hider will reduce muzzle blast off to the sides and I believe back at the shooter as well. All while cutting an inch or so off the O.L. 20 inch AR's are carbines after all not a rifle.

16” barrel AR's are a recipe for hearing loss. Due to horrible muzzle blast. As I've stated before on this forum I have ringing of the ears and it is not a good thing. Yes this does give me an attitude. Mine I think is factory work. My father thinks his is from straight pipe tractors but it may have been M2's out the side door of H17's. He'd never blame anything on the corps as it's just not the way old Marines think.

What I'm getting at is don't think you can shoot a machine pistol with a two foot muzzle flame and not suffer the effects of that blast. Put a barrel on that thing.