PDA

View Full Version : Leverguns for CAS shooting

Harry O
06-28-2010, 12:29 PM
I have been shooting CAS for a few years now. There are problems (malfunctions of some kinds) with some guns in every match.

From my informal observation, the leverguns least likely to have any problems during the match are the Uberti 1873 Winchester clones. The Marlin 1894 is the next best. I have seen a few problems with them, but they are few and far between. Both are the most common leverguns seen, too.

The Uberti 1866 clones seem to have a lot of problems. There are very few of the Uberti Henry clones, so I don't have a good feel on how reliable they are, but the few I have seen seem to have problems. We have had a few of the newest Rossi 92 clones recently and there seems to be numerous problems with them. I hope that they work out those problems. I would like to get one if they ever offer it in 38-40.

I don't have any way of knowing how many of the malfunctions are gun problems, how many are reload problems, and how many are people problems. What is other peoples experience with leverguns in CAS shooting?

McLintock
06-28-2010, 01:44 PM