PDA

View Full Version : Lee Lube / Sizing Method - Any Good?

Racingsnake
06-22-2010, 11:50 AM
Hi guys,

I am new to casting and know nothing about sizing and lubricating boolits. I know it's necessary - I just don't know how it's done.

I shoot 38 spl and 357mag and want to cast 148g WC and 158g SWC. Is the Lee Alox and 'push through' sizing system a good method or should I be considering an RCBS / Lyman conventional lubesizer?

Thanks, Racingsnake

Doby45
06-22-2010, 12:32 PM
The lubrisizer really depends on how many bullets you shoot. If you are a shooter that goes through 1000 a weekend then I would say you definently need a lubrisizer. If you shoot maybe 200 a month then I would say you can pan lube and then use the Lee push through sizer.

smith52
06-22-2010, 12:55 PM
All I use is Lee Liquid Alox (LLA) and the Lee push through sizing dies. I really like this method and it is easy to to do larger quanties of boolits at one time, it just takes longer than a conventional lube/sizer. I lightly lube the unsized boolits and let them dry over night, the next day I size and relube the boolits and let them dry over night again, then I have boolits that are ready to load.

Ben
06-22-2010, 01:47 PM
This will work. You'd just take a .35 Remington , fired case, and make yourself a " Cake Cutter " to remove the sized bullets from the lube :

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=34058

geargnasher
06-22-2010, 02:16 PM
Hi guys,

I am new to casting and know nothing about sizing and lubricating boolits. I know it's necessary - I just don't know how it's done.

I shoot 38 spl and 357mag and want to cast 148g WC and 158g SWC. Is the Lee Alox and 'push through' sizing system a good method or should I be considering an RCBS / Lyman conventional lubesizer?

Thanks, Racingsnake