PDA

View Full Version : Marlin 1893 .32-40 Reloading

David2011
06-21-2010, 08:43 PM
Guys,

I have zero knowledge in this area. I'm getting my Dad's old Model 1893 Marlin in .32-40 which is a black powder rifle according to the markings on the barrel. I keep seeing that Blackhorn 209 is safe in BP guns. Does anyone have any first hand knowledge on loading this cartridge? I'm very aware that traditionally it was considered unsafe to load any BP gun with any smokeless but was looking for info on the newer powders.

Thanks,
David

John Boy
06-21-2010, 09:47 PM
David, Blackhorn 209 is a nitro based substitute powder, really made for modern steel rifles. There is no downloading data for originals with mild steel. I would not use the stuff in an original. Stick with original gunpowder (black) ...
the Lyman 319247, a 165 gr bullet, with 40gr of FFFg

Buckshot
06-22-2010, 02:22 AM
............David2011, it'd be a good idea to hold off buying a mould for the rifle until you get it. You'd be well to slug the barrel to see what you're dealing with first. You may find yourself using 8mm boolits in order to fit the groove. if so the Lyman 323470 drops a 165gr RN Loverin design with a GC. You can also have the mould modified a couple ways. If you're wanting to use PB slugs the GC shank can be bored out. Also the cavities' noses can be drilled and permanent pins fitted to give you a FN, in deference to the tube magazine.

Saeco also offers 2 excellent FNPB moulds for the 32-40. One of 165 grs and the other a 200 gr. Both are a tapered schuetzen type (looks like a Loverin) with base bands going about .323". Hopefully the barrel of your dad's rifle is in good shape. Accurate powder lists a couple smokless loads for the 32-40 commensurate with BP pressures, and there may be others. I take it your barrel is marked, "For Black Powder Only" ?

.............Buckshot

Hondo Lane
06-22-2010, 09:06 AM