PDA

View Full Version : New Member - Hello. Also have questions

Eb1
06-16-2010, 08:48 PM
Greetings. I am new to the lead boolit scene. I have loaded many match rounds in .223 and hunting rounds in 30-30, .303 British.

I have recently bought a Ruger SS SBH. I have not shot any factory out of the gun, and have been shooting 240 grain Speer HP with 10.0 grains Unique, and I have just loaded some 270 Speer SP under 15.5 grains 2400.
Some guys over at THR have mentioned I should give the old 44 Magnum a diet of Lead instead of Jacketed. Both for cost, and for accuracy. Well I want the .44 Magnum to be my pig gun, and I also want to shoot it for fun. I also plan to take a deer with it.
Being a novice to lead, I purchased 500 Missouri 18 BHN Keith boolits. What I am looking to do is push these at 1300 or there abouts.
I have asked for the Lyman reloading book for fathers day to go along with the other manuals I have now.

Could you all give me somethings to look for when/while loading these. When using 2400 what will get me to my desired velocity? Will a .430 boolit work for me. Etc.

Thank you. I hope to have some success to share, and look forward to learning from you all.

454PB
06-16-2010, 10:05 PM
2400 is not my powder of choice, but I used to use it in .44 magnum. Start around 19 grs. with that boolit and work up if desired. 19 to 20 grs. should produce about 1300 fps., depending on barrel length.

And welcome to castboolits!

Eb1
06-16-2010, 10:25 PM
Thank you, sir.

Forgot to mention the Revolver is a Ruger Stainless Steel Super Blackhawk 5 1/2" barrel. Beautiful gun. Just need to shoot it more to get the feel for it.

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot
06-17-2010, 02:09 AM
Shouldn't be hard to get 1300fps with a 240gr, as my go to load with a 5.5" Redhawk is a cast 310gr LBT boolit at a tad over 1300fps.

This is with AA #9

Think you will find that many favor H110, Winchester 296 and the AA #9 for the heavy loads.