PDA

View Full Version : Help with zinc

gunsbrad
06-14-2010, 05:00 PM
I have zinc contamination in approx 4-500lb of ingots.

I have followed the threads here and did the muriatic acid test. I want to remove the zinc with sulfur. I have to drive a ways to get it. What I need to know is approximately how much to get. Also as I have never done this before I will accept any advice I can get on the actual working the zinc out.

Thanks,
Brad Hurt

lwknight
06-14-2010, 05:15 PM
In my case , a local scrapyard buys lead for 60 cents and sells it for 75 cents.
So I would just sell , buy and trade for pure lead.

gunsbrad
06-14-2010, 05:40 PM
no such luck here.

I'll have to try to reclaim this stuff

Brad

sagacious
06-14-2010, 07:00 PM
What symptoms of 'zinc poisioning' does your lead have?

What were the results of the acid test?

gunsbrad
06-14-2010, 09:29 PM
Acid test was positive.

Symptoms: oatmeal, hard to cast good boolits, etc.

Brad

hammerhead357
06-14-2010, 10:08 PM
Check out the third sticky from the top about using sulfur to flux it out. Might work I have never had to try it but I think it would be worth a shot....Wes

docone31
06-14-2010, 10:23 PM
I just finished loading up 200rds of zinc 200gn castings for my ACP. I blend the zinc into my melt.
I find, it makes a good firing casting. No leading, no jams, no residue. Very little wear if any showing.
You gotta keep the heat on casting though. Only drawback.

sagacious
06-14-2010, 10:52 PM
I have zinc contamination in approx 4-500lb of ingots.
I want to remove the zinc with sulfur. I have to drive a ways to get it. What I need to know is approximately how much to get.
Brad,
Here's an estimation. If 2% of your 500lbs of alloy is zinc, and you can remove all of that as zinc sulfide (ZnS), then chemically you need a minimum of 5lbs sulfur.

Realistically, and accounting for waste, etc, the amount of sulfur required is probably doubled, and the amount of zinc removed is not likely to be anywhere near 100%.