PDA

View Full Version : Leading with mag loads

astrodan
06-13-2010, 06:53 PM
I'm very new to casting bullets. Wheel weight lead was obviously not going to work for 357 magnum loads. After thoroughly cleaning out the film of lead from the barrel... I shot a wheel of 158gr 100% Linotype bullets water quenshed. Results were about the same. I'm using a Lee mold, (the multiribbed type) and lubbing properly. Bullets I was buying from S&S Casting never left a trace of lead. Suggestions please.

Casting Timmy
06-13-2010, 07:08 PM
Both metals sound like they could work to me. Sizing would be the first thing I would try....see if you can shoot them as-is or don't size down as much if possible. Other than that I would look at what the differences are between the S&S Castings are your own. Different powders? Different lubes? Different gun? etc.

Keep with it and you'll figure it out. It's just of the learning process that never ends.

fryboy
06-13-2010, 07:08 PM
what are ur boolits sized to? the same as the ones u bought ? my experience is more limited to some but mag velocities are best with j words

Gunslinger
06-13-2010, 07:09 PM
First off, shooting pure lino is a waste, and water quenching pure lino is about the craziest thing I've ever heard :smile:. Sorry, but it really is overkill.

We need a little more info before we can really help you. Have you slugged your barrel? Your boolit must be .001" larger than your bore - bullet fit is the name of the game. A hard undersize boolit will lead your barrel just as a soft undersize boolit will!

I don't really agree with Fryboy. I can't remember when I last shot a jacketed bullet through any of my guns. In my Freedom Arms I shot a 180gr LBT FNGC boolit at 1540fps... have yet to see leading down that barrel. And accuracy is phenomenal.

When exceeding velocities of 1200fps you need a boolit with gas check.