PDA

View Full Version : Observation: Going from a 10 LB to a 20 LB pot

zomby woof
06-13-2010, 03:33 PM
I'm in my second year of casting. I started out with a LEE 10lb bottom pour. After getting a six cavity, the 10 was too small. Plus my pot seem to only run good between about 2 though 8 pounds of alloy. It was either running too fast or too slow.

I just got a LEE 20lb bottom pour. I spent the morning casting with a couple two cavity molds. What I notice was the lead temperature stayed much more consistent. I didn't have to stop to add metal and wait to come up to temp. I was in the groove for a much longer period of time. My production was increased. My boolits look great and seem very consistent.

The only down side is the spout is a bit hidden. I was able to get used to it.

Live and learn. Now I have two pots!!

qajaq59
06-13-2010, 04:08 PM
Now you can use the 10 lb pot for adding hot metal to the 20. Then you wont have to wait for it to come back up to temp.

rmaster14145
06-13-2010, 06:16 PM
i used a 10lb pot first..it was a friends. when i bought one i got the 20lb er. the 20lb one is MUCH better.

rm

Shooter6br
06-13-2010, 06:24 PM
i use the old dip pot (from my Dad 35 yrs old) filled with alloy to dip the corner of my mold to pre heat and bottom pour to cast. Also for blending alloy etc

mooman76
06-13-2010, 07:43 PM
I went from a 4 to a 20. Slight difference there. Actually went from the stovetop cast iron pot (20) to the 4 to the 20. I ladle pour though. I still use the 4 for small jobs and keep it full of soft lead for my MLs. I can do it easier being small because soft lead I can just crank it up most all the way. I saw right away the 4 wouldn't do well so I went right to the 20 from there. I also keep small pieces of lead handy to stoke the 4 that way it keeps the pot more even not adding a big 1# weight at a time.

fredj338
06-13-2010, 08:38 PM