PDA

View Full Version : Need help sorting through WWs

bennadatto
06-10-2010, 11:14 AM
All,

I am just getting into casting, and need some help from the experts! I've got my forst 100# of wws. I don't want to mess up my alloy, so how can I tell the difference between Zinc WWs and Lead WWs?

I read somewhere that lead WWs will look like a single piece where as Zinc WWs will look like multiple pieces. I also read about using a flathead screwdriver to scratch the WWs. If they scratch they're lead if not they're Zinc. Any validity to these simple tests?

Also, I there is a slew of stick on lead WWs in the batch. Are these ok to use?

Any help would be appreciated!!

thx997303
06-10-2010, 11:18 AM
Stick on WW are usually sorted out because they are usually softer than clip on WW.

Zinc wheelweights have the steel clip riveted to them.

I usually use a pair of dikes to cut each WW. If they don't, or are difficult to cut, they are culled.

mac1911
06-10-2010, 11:46 AM
newbie here also.....so far I have sorted about 300lbs of WWs. You will lean quick to spot most of the zinc and steel.
Newer zinc and steel weights are marked Zn or Fe.
Anything with rivots is not lead as far as I know.
I have some Zinc wheel weights that are marked Zn and the steel clip looks pressed in not molded in?????
You will over time be able to spot the non lead weights quickly. If I have any doubters I toss them with the other non lead weights.

I also watch my heat when smelting and bring the temp up slowly. Smelting set up can only get up to a touch under 800' but this is long after the lead is melted and sitting on the heat for a while. So the ones I miss float. I must say the float well.

I get to sort another 100 or so lbs soon. The bucket turned over in my truck. Nicely spread out for sorting. It is also raining like hell so they will be clean to boot.