PDA

View Full Version : Using mould prep

kcajeel
06-08-2010, 06:59 PM
I'm new to casting and would like to hear from the experienced about using mould prep or other items like that on my moulds.
My fatherinlaw has casted for years and is really good at it. He cringes at the mention of anything like this. But I have also seen some of his moulds with some rust in them.
Thanks for your views.

gray wolf
06-08-2010, 09:59 PM
Mold prep is before the fact and rust is after the fact.
Some folks use products to help release the bullets from a mold, some work and some don't.
They have been known to change the size of the bullets that the mold drops because they coat the inside of the mold. I don't use them. If a mold drops nice bullets and they release from the mold without to much difficulty then don't put anything inside the cavities.
If you have a mold that gives trouble with sticking bullets there are ways to fix it.
You didn't ask about a problem so I wont take up the time going into all the fixes.
As for the rust -- I would think it would be more of a neglect issue. Proper care should be taken with a mold or the parts of a mold that are prone to rust.

theperfessor
06-08-2010, 10:02 PM
Is mold prep needed to cast good bullets - No. A clean mold with no burrs that is at the proper temperature will cast good bullets. If the bullets don't drop out then check out one of the many threads here about lapping mold cavities.

Do you need to do something to prevent ferrous molds from rusting between casting sessions - maybe, maybe not, depends on the storage conditions. Some people use Kroil, others have more elaborate solutions. I just store mine in my gun room in the house where the temperature and humidity are controlled, haven't had any rust yet.

dromia
06-09-2010, 03:37 AM
Good advice from the two previous posts.

If I feel the need for mould prep they I'll try and find the source of the problem and fix it rather than "hiding" it with mould prep.