PDA

View Full Version : newbie here

shootstraight
06-05-2010, 08:14 PM
Hello Everyone

I am new here and new to casting. Been reloading for about 25 years. Never had the desire jump into boolit casting. But an old timer from my gun club/range showed me how he does it and before long had me doing a bunch and I guess I'm hooked.
So, I am gathering the gear I need and hope to try it on my own in the near future. But my question today is this product from Rotometals--Hardball Bullet Casting Alloy Ingot (2%-Tin,-6%-Antimony-And-92%-Lead), is it a good way to begin. I will be casting 9mm 356 120gn TC out of 2 Lee DC molds. I want a fairly hard bullet so as not to lead up my 9mm pistols.
Am I heading in the right direction?

thanks
Robert

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot
06-05-2010, 09:33 PM
Well Shootstraight, you'll probably get a bunch of answers, but personally if I could come up with the lead alloy wheel wts. that is all you need.

I use straight WW for 310gr boolits in my .44 at 1300fps (gas checked) all the way down to .38 loads ahead of 2.5gr to 4 gr of Bullseye.

I quench in cold water directly from the mold, but cast for years without the quench and did fine.

In handguns, I cast for .40, 45acp, 38/357, 44 and recently started casting for the 45/70.

Use the cheapest metal you can find - WW - and only sweeted the alloy with just a SMALL amount of tin if needed.

Nothing against the Rotometals, just want to keep things as low budget as possible.:lovebooli

Keep em coming!

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot

cbrick
06-05-2010, 10:02 PM
Welcome to the forum shootstraight,

To answer your question, yes, the Roto Metals hardball would be a great way to go for the 9mm if the cost isn't prohibitive to you.

Roto metals is new, virgin metals, not blended from scrap so it is high quality ""clean"" alloy.

Some people cast strictly for the cost saving and some to make the best they can with their own hands. It all depends on what you want to accomplish vs what you can afford.

Rick

wistlepig1