PDA

View Full Version : Lee Casting Pot - 10 pound or 20 pound

jonblack
06-03-2010, 05:10 PM
I want to order a Lee casting pot with the bottom pour feature. Yes, I know they leak. My question is: should I order the 10# or 20# version? I am new to casting and I would like to cast .380, 9mm, 40, and 38, and .30 cal projectiles, as well as 12 and 20 gauge slugs. So far I only have a 12 gauge slug mold.

Eventually, I would probably add a 10 pound pot to feed my main pot. So, maybe I can get a 10 pound pot now, and a 20 pound later, should I need the additional capacity.

What do you guys think?

jonblack

Cowboy T
06-03-2010, 05:37 PM
I have the 20# version, and I'm glad I bought it. I cast with several Lee 6-cavity moulds, and that lead goes mighty fast. The 10# pots work fine, don't get me wrong. But the 20# is, in my experience, worth the extra money. It also has a more powerful heating element, so the same quantity of lead will melt faster.

BTW, the leaking thing isn't nearly as bad as what you might've heard. Mine leaks a little, but it's no biggie. For the price, the Lee pots are great.

BCB
06-03-2010, 06:00 PM
I started with a 10 and now I have a 20...

If you need a 10 to feed a 20, you are doing some major casting!

Good-luck...BCB

fryboy
06-03-2010, 06:40 PM
the 20 ....if i'm running one lil 22 cal mold it may take a bit to empty it but it's surely nice not to cast 50-100 boolits and have to reload my old 10# when i'm casting the bigger slugs , i started with a cast iron pot then graduated to a lee production pot ( #10 ) then to the production pot 4 and it was no problem to keep them both running for hours , then i bought the 20 ....gee wish i had two of'em lolz ( wish they made a 40 !!! )

Packy
06-03-2010, 06:51 PM