PDA

View Full Version : Developing a 40 s&w cast load

bronco9588
05-31-2010, 05:47 PM
I would first like to say that I am new to casting my own "boolits" and want to get some information about shooting cast rounds out of my automatic 229 sig. I became interested in lead boolits based on their economy and training value. My purpose for this round is solely to establish my first cast round and to use these rounds for plinking at targets.

1) I am mainly concerned with the lack of load data out there pertaining to lead boolits. I have some bullseye, clays, and universal powder and remington, cci, and winchester primers. I currently have the lee 2nd edition reload manual that has lots of information, but it seems taylored to cast rifle rounds. I am looking at getting the lee truncated cone 175 grain 6 cavity mold for my setup. I feel very confident in my ability to mix and match alloys to get a desired hardness. However, upon reading a table in the lee handbook, it appears that i need a really high hardness for my boolits. Assuming that the round is undergoing 35000 psi and I devide that by 1422 to convert to BHN and devide by .9 to convert from ultimate strenght to yield strength, I need something on the order of 27 BHN which appears very high. I am guessing that most automatics are shooting quenched WW with a BHN around 18. Are these shooters using less PSI powders (slower???), less powder, gas checks, or just dismissing the lee cast data?

2) I am in search of some more books on the topic and starting to collect lead before in jump in on the project. I have tried researching 40 cast data, but high pressure automatics seem to have less information on the topic. I.E. 40 and 9mm. This could just be out of ignorance.

3) Anyone have any experience with cast boolits in sigs, I would love to know more.

kawalekm
06-01-2010, 12:44 PM