PDA

View Full Version : New paper patch barrel .303 British

Brithunter
05-30-2010, 02:30 PM
Just got a new barrel fitted to a BSA sporterised P-14 rifle (Model C) now the barrel is actually of 1954 vintage but new and the bore is mint and smoooooooooooooooooth especially as it's been "Ball Burnished" by A.G. Parker and is so stamped at the muzzle.

Now the drawbacks the bore diameter is 0.301" but the groove diameter is 0.315" we don't know what the throat measurement is as yet. Now I fired 10 rounds loaded with a commercially cast gas Checked 205 grain bullet sized to 0.311" with a bore riding nose diameter of 0.302" and after the test firing/function testing when I cleaned the bore I got some lead slivers ot of it. Not surprising with the bullet being undersize, oh the propellent was Reloader 7.

Now as this barrel is new the thinking is of keeping it as a cast/PP bullet rifle as after all we have a pristine barrel to play with.

I am new to cast but have used PP bullets some years ago in 577/450 Swinburns patent sporting rifle and tried a few through a .458" Win mag and a couple from a 9.3x57 but depsite that I have an electric pot and a Lyman 450 and a Saeco lubesizer I have never used them. Just collected them for when the casting got underway and now it seems is the time.

I would like a bullet weight of 180- 210 grains and it being capable of a velocity of 2000fps+ the question is what do I use and what size should it be?

303Guy
05-30-2010, 06:21 PM
Is that a two-groove or five? The .301 bore sounds suspicious. I wonder if it came out of the Springfield armoury? (Might have some 17 Enfield influence?) Anyway, whatever the explanation, I have just recently found that it is not necessary to seal the bore (groove) with a paper patched boolit.

Check out my thread on two-groove patching.

Brithunter
05-31-2010, 10:52 AM