PDA

View Full Version : Need some help

Bad luck Bill
08-04-2006, 06:17 PM
I experienced bad muzzel leading from the last batch of bullets I cast. I used some old fishing weights that my Grandfather left me. I'm new to casting and I just scrounged a bunch of wheel weights and cast about 400 hundred boolits from the WW's. I like to shoot both lighter loads (under 1000 FPS) and some Magnum loads. Will the wheel weigh boolits be up to snuff for the magnum loads?

Here's some load data for you: I'm casting a 158gr. Lee SWC, using 11.0 gr. of 2400 out of a Ruger BlackHawk 6.5 inch barrel. I'm also using 6.5 grains of Unique under the same boolit with the same revolver. Do you think the wheel weight boolits will do okay with these loads, i.e., no leading, or barely no leading? I'm tumble lubing the bullets and then sizing, then retumble lubing after sizing them.

The first time I cast the boolits I sized them and then loaded them without re-lubing them. I was thinking maybe that was the reason I got bad muzzle leading, either that or my Grandfather's fishing weight lead wasn't hard enough. My oven is broke so I can't heat treat my WW boolits until I get the oven fixed. Any advice would be very welcome. I also have two more molds on the way, both Lee (Affordable) and both are tumble lube design. I wonder if they are really more accurate then traditional bullet designs? I really doubt the truth of that statement.

I also ordered some of that Frankfurt Arsenal "Drop Out" so the boolits fall out of the mold without any "bashing". The Lee mold I'm using now is a double cavity and one of the cavities is sticking horribly. It won't release the boolit no matter how hard I hit it with my wooden dowel! It doesn't make too much sense to hit a mold to begin with, at least in my humble opinion. I have to use a flat head screwdriver to "flick" the boolits out the sticky cavity. This really slows down casting time and most likely effects the temp of my mold.

thanks in advance,