PDA

View Full Version : Gas checks for jackets idea.

Ammosmith
05-22-2010, 04:00 PM
It would seem to me very doable to create a die that would take a 45 caliber gas check and make it a .224" copper jacket. Similar to the jacket making die Dave Corbin makes.

ANeat
05-22-2010, 06:42 PM
I think if youre starting with checks you might as well stamp out circles from sheet.

Would a 45 check be large enough?

Ammosmith
05-22-2010, 08:13 PM
I don't know. I wish I had a machine shop. I'd never stop coming up with new stuff.

deltaenterprizes
05-22-2010, 08:48 PM
Just having the tools does not make a machinist! After going to school and getting a diploma 10 years ago and working in a couple shops I am still learning new things. Each machine and material is different. My 14x40 Victor lathe is a much different machine than my 12x36 Pratt & Whitney, and both are tool room lathes. The Grizzly mill is not that much different than the Jet or Rockford, but the Cincinnati we had in the shop was a workhorse!

ANeat
05-23-2010, 07:03 AM
The more I mess with rimfire jackets, cases for jackest and such, the more I like just grabbing a berger or sierra jacket and making a bullet

Jim_Fleming
05-23-2010, 09:08 AM
I've been studying Corbin's Web Site, some...

From what I gather from Mr. Corbin's site is that the Jacket Drawing procedure he's got established, is that the *initial* size that is yielded is .45 Caliber Jackets that are then drawn down gradually to the desired diameter, .375, .357, .308, .257, .224 and so forth.

The problem with this procedure is the tremendous amount of waste copper, not the strips with the neat circles stamped out, I'm talking about the length of tubing that is going to result from drawing a .452x.562 (for example) Jacket out to a .224 Jacket, that Jacket very likely is going to be in the area of 1.500" inches long or longer yet, I'm not engineer enough to calculate that out.