PDA

View Full Version : Need Garand Help!

smoked turkey
05-21-2010, 10:26 PM
I went with a friend to a local gun store today and came home with a new (to me) M1 Garand. I have wanted one for quite a while but never saw one that hit my fancy until today. I have zero experience with the M1. Never fired one until this afternoon. I came home pretty pumped with my new purchase. I shot it at 60 yards using some of my handloaded ammo for my Remington 700 '06. The load functioned perfectly seems to me. The load was 50 gr H380/150 gr BT FMJ bullet/expected velocity of 2500'/s. No jams, 2" group, empties landing approx 4' toward front of shooting position. The clip ejected sort of straight up and landed in my lap. I am on cloud 400 with all this. Now to why I am writing because I have had my bubble broken by some reading I ran into this evening. Not knowing anything about it I googled Federal Ord Inc of El Monte Ca only to read some posts from other forums stating that this particular action is JUNK. However I was led to believe this was a good unit built in 1954 with US military parts and that the barrel, and trigger group was Springfield Armory. In fact a SA-F8535448 4 54 A211B can be seen on the barrel when the bolt is open. The stock is very nice and appears to be old and is a very dark walnut. I hate to think I didn't make a wise move here, but I trust the folks on this forum to tell the straight skinney on this. If it is not such a wise move I may be able to undo it if I move quickly. I paid $700 for the rifle. What do you think?

Hip's Ax
05-21-2010, 10:42 PM
Yeah, the aftermarket cast receivers have a very bad reputation. If you can take it back and get your money back. If not and this one works enjoy it.

You can get a real Garand from the CMP for 4 or 5 hundred. The higher the price the better the barrel is.