PDA

View Full Version : Signs of pressure !

nitro450exp
05-14-2010, 10:36 AM
Hello All,

I remember someone stating that 12 ga shells do not show signs of pressure.
Since I have little experience with shotshells should I treat them differently from regular loads.

The sign of pressure I am familiar with are :
1. Sticky extraction.
2. Flattened primers.
3. Blown Primers.
4. Excess elongation of the case.

I am using Magtech 2 1/2" brass shells, Winchester Large Pistol Primers (WLP)
and putting a crimp on the brass.

With the loads I have made so far I have observed low velocity and low recoil.
The crimp on the brass remains after the shot.

But they are near the Max of the surrogate data I used.
1 1/4 Oz shot is quoted as ~ 1300 fps, field loads
I am shooting 1 1/4 slugs over 11 ga fibre wads and cards and only get ~ 900 fps
I am planning on stepping it up, but want to watch for pressure.

Should and can I use the convensional sign of pressure, as stated above ?

Thanks for the wisdom.

Nitro

missionary5155
05-15-2010, 06:34 AM
Good morning
As I do not have pressure equipment I rely on the BIG BOYS to do that.
I buy the least amount of FULL POWER MAG shotshells of the make I will use to test with and fire 3 per barrel that I plan to load for. The Base of that cartrige will expand. Measure those 3 with a GOOD micrometer and that average is you MAX case expansion for that barrel. All barrels are differnt! I do this for every barrel. Doubles are different side to side. I use a FOX B 12 guage as my double test gun and it has barrels almost exact.
The singles are much easier.. I use Mossburg down here in Peru... BUT from one barrel to the next the expansion is different as all chambers vary.