PDA

View Full Version : Making sizing dies - CNC lathe help

mtnman31
05-11-2010, 03:57 PM
I have been playing around on a regular lathe for months now and am starting to get comfortable with it - doing mostly basic tasks, of course. I have access to a shop and the use of the machines, but not really anyone who is proficient and can impart any knowledge to me. So far, most of what I have learned is self-taught, trial & error, and reading. The shop recently got a brand new CNC lathe and mill. Both are Haas units and amazing watch in action. I played around with the CNC lathe recently doing everything manually. I now want to make some Lyman style sizing dies on the lathe.

I can make them easy enough on the manual lathe but the CNC is calling me. I want to set it up and let it make me a pile of sizing die blanks that I can later bore to whatever diameter I need - right now I've got four different calibers that I don't have any sizing dies for.

Long story short, I need some help in setting up a program to turn these die blanks. Like I mentioned, the shop I have access to doesn't really have anyone qualified to show me how to do it. The machinists that are there are some young Marines fresh out of school with no experience on the CNC beyond what I have. I've got basic tooling and a supply of stainless and O-1 steel rods.

Anyone willing to give me a little tutoring? Send me a PM and maybe we can coordinate something offline.

ANeat
05-11-2010, 04:14 PM
I believe there is a Haas tech as a member here. Depending on the control you may have some type of shop floor programing option. That could step you thru the part design and basicly it does its thing.

There should be a programing manual with the machine

Most of the machines Im familiar with are all G code M code programed.

M6 to get the correct tool
G0 (rapid) to get close to the part
S code for a spindle speed, posibly an M code for range if the machine needs it