PDA

View Full Version : Forming 221 FB from 223 Rem- What's it take?

Charlie Sometimes
05-09-2010, 10:54 PM
Got some military and commerical 223 cases- want to turn them into 221 Fireball. Do I need anything special that I don't already have? Asking here first. Gonna search the WWW next.
I've never done this before, but I'm sure someone else here has- looks to be a straight forward process. Need a inside neck reamer, trim die, or what? Anyone know?

Goofing around today, I ran a few 223 into the 221 sizer die without the decapper stem in it. I lubed the case with Imperial size die wax before I did (my regular size lube). It seemed to work very well, and smoothly, with very little extra force (using a Lyman Orange Crusher II press)- got a long necked 221 case in one step.

It looks like if you cut the 223 off at the shoulder it would be a little easier to trim later. I haven't tried trimming any back yet. I ran some back through the sizer die with the stem replaced. That worked okay, too. A shorter neck might have been easier, but it looks okay!

If I would trim it off and then resize it with the stem installed, would I be good?

Comments and suggestions, please! :smile:

BCall
05-09-2010, 11:13 PM
It will work Charlie, I have seen it done before. You might not even need to neck ream. Do you have any brass? I would check the diameter of the neck of a fired round and then check the diameter of one of your formed cases with a bullet seated. If you have clearance, I wouldn't worry about reaming them. I might turn the necks to make sure that they are as concentric as possible without taking too much off, but I tend to like thicker necks on my brass. I feel like it helps the boolit enter the bore straighter.