PDA

View Full Version : aa9

Lloyd Smale
05-08-2010, 06:57 AM
have to chuckle at brain pearces recent article in handloader. I should have know better as this has happened before but i just had to try it again. Ive been working up loads for two 45 colts. A stock ruger 4 5/8s blackhawk and a custom clements 4 inch vaquero. Ive been loading 6 differnt 45 bullets around 255-260 grain. So far i tried unique herco 2400 hs6 4227. I didnt use 110 because this is a slightly reduced loading im shooting for. Somewhere around 1000-1100 fps. Nothing earth shattering but some decent groups up to this point. then i figured id give aa9 a shot. I usually dont use it for reduced loads as ive found it hard to ignite like 110/296. Well i loaded up all the bullets with 19 grains of aa9 using both cci 300s and 350s. I started shooting the ones with 300s and had squibs in every cylinder full and a couple that barely made it out of the barrel. It had my wondering if my powder measures was hanging up. I then shot the ones with 350s and low and behold not a single squib or light recoiling round. Another good thing was that hands down both of these guns liked this load better then any other powder primer combo. It shot the old lee group buy 255swc and babores 260lfn into one ragged hole at 25 yards in both guns. Sorry brain but your never going to convince me you actually shot those test rounds using standard primers. More then likely you were looking to make a dedline and wrote a tale. By the way it was 40 degrees when i shot and im sure if it were colder the results would have been even more of a joke.

Ben
05-08-2010, 02:27 PM
Very similar results for me :

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=82864

Ronb
05-08-2010, 03:35 PM
AA9 is one of the best"reduced" loads in my 480's. 18 gr under a 420 gives me 1100 fps with 100 yd groups of 3'' or so. A plus is that it hits the same spot as the same weight bullet at 1275 at 100 yds. Shoots great in the Alaskan too.

spqrzilla