PDA

View Full Version : Bulgarian Makarov

ke7chv
05-04-2010, 12:01 AM
I am relatively new to handguns, and am looking to buy my first. Due to economic influence, I've instinctively looked for the cheapest. Currently for my consideration is the Bulgarian Makarov 9x18. Ammunition being readily available at $110/500rds for 95gr, is the additional selling point. But as always, I wanted some other opinions before purchasing. Also for consideration is a Czech CZ-82 Makarov, also in 9x18.

05-04-2010, 12:27 AM
i loved my mak! i cannot more highly reccomend it, buy all the mags you can find!

mike in co
05-04-2010, 01:31 AM
i loved my mak! i cannot more highly reccomend it, buy all the mags you can find!

there are four guns you should consider.

the bulg mak

the polish p83

the cz 82

and the p64

all are 9mak

the p64 is 8 plus 1 i think,
the bul mak is 8 plus 1
the cz is 12 plus one going from memory( too lazy to pick mine up and count)
and the p64 is 6 plus 1

bulg mak is about 260,
the p83 is 230 i think....
the p64 is 160
and the cz can be as low as 190

all shoot he 9mak round wich is potentially 10% more powder than a 380

mike in co

AND WHY IS THIS IN THE RIFLE SECTION ??

garandsrus
05-04-2010, 02:57 PM
The PA-63 is a great little Mak pistol also. It is almost a clone of a Walther PP. A year or so ago the price was $95. Now it's up to about $180.

John

223tenx
05-04-2010, 03:16 PM
Just don't assume all that shoot a 9x18 Mak parts are interchangeable because they are not. Only the original Makarovs are. For instance the Czech is not an original Makarov. There is a lot of info on Gunboards.com forums. There is even a Makarov forum. I'll agree that the P-64 is a neat little carry pistol ( I carried one for two years while I worked at Makarov.Com), but the operative word is little. It's a hand stinger and usually has a pretty strong double action trigger pull. Shoot one before you buy it if you can.

excess650
05-04-2010, 04:27 PM