PDA

View Full Version : keeping moulds from rusting

southernSpaw
07-25-2006, 12:59 AM
I have been reading excellent post and advice for about a month
and felt that I should jump in and contribute.

I'm new in your midst but have been pouring " Lead " since 1968
in one form or another.

My mother taught me a novel method of keeping moulds from rusting
in storage with out having to resort to lubricants for their protection.
a pain to remove when I want to cast.

Mom had a shiny set of silver ware that she never seemed to clean
I asked her how she accomplished it.

Oh!"You just take a piece of Camphor and put it in with the Silverware
and it keep it from tarnishing."

Well gents off I went to a drug store and purchased a block of
of Camphor and been using the stuff ever since.

I recycle Pringle cans ( potato chip type) these are fairly airtight
cut a piece of Camphor and drop it the mould /handles and all
in the can and replace the plastic cover.

The Camphor lasts for years, keeps the mould rust free without resorting
to lubricants. Mould ready for use at a moments notice.

Ingredients: HUMCO Camphor gum block
Pringle or other tubular container, mailing tube will work
these come in different sizes and diameters.

S/SP

357maximum
07-25-2006, 02:10 AM
southernspaw

Welcome to the board, you'll find a ton of useful hints here. Take your first post for instance, I found it very useful. Thank You

Bucks Owin
07-25-2006, 03:24 PM
Great tip!

Thanks and welcome to the asylum!

Dennis

carpetman
07-25-2006, 03:42 PM
SouthernSpaw--Welcome and gosh who knows you may become a legend from your first post. For examples--just say felix and people think of lube. Say Beagle it and people know just add a piece of tape between the mold to enlarge it. Say Wasksupi and well I can't tell you what they think(Btw are you familar with the source of wool and lanolin?) Some day adding camphor may be known as Southernspawing it. Are you left handed?

carpetman
07-25-2006, 05:36 PM