PDA

View Full Version : Straight Linotype?

shooter75126
04-27-2010, 10:09 AM
I have a good source of pure linotype from a print shop that doesn't use it anymore. I have been using pure linotype as of late. I know the bullets are super hard, but it's what I've got right now. I don't have a source for WW's right now.

Is linotype ok to shoot in handguns? What are the problems with shooting a hard alloy like this in handguns? I've only used straight WW's before, and have had good luck with them. I'm new to the linotype thing, so I think I need some help figuring it out.

I'm shooting it out of a .44 mag, .357, .45 Colt in handguns, all going between 1000 and 1400 fps and 8mm Mauser, 30-30 out of rifles. I'm using Lyman Super Molly lube, and just made a batch of lube with beeswax, lithium grease, molly grease, and carnauba wax.

I'm not having any leading issues or other problems right now, but would like to know what to look out for if anything.

sqlbullet
04-27-2010, 10:19 AM
Two problems can arise.

If bullets are too hard and not sized properly, they won't obturate to fill the bore and you may get gas cutting and leading. You indicate that for your present loads, no leading, so you are good there.

The second issue is terminal ballistics. High antimony bullets can be brittle, and break up on impact rather than expand. This is really only an issue in bullets meant for hunting.

Beyond that, it is just hard on the sensibilities of those that are looking for a way to make pure lead alloys a little harder. Historically, pure lead has been more abundant, meaning many use alloys like linotype very sparingly to 'sweeten' a pot of lead a bit.

Depending on where you are geographically, I bet you could trade linotype with people for soft lead.

Cherokee
04-27-2010, 01:57 PM