PDA

View Full Version : New To Loading 45ACP

Gohon
04-26-2010, 10:56 PM
I've been loading and casting for many years but never for a pistol cartridge. Last year I bought a 45 ACP for qualifications for a CCW permit although that is not what I will carry. I have a problem trying to understand COL for this cartridge. What I used as a guide is the picture below which seemed to make things simple.
http://i39.tinypic.com/246s6jt.jpg

These are the two bullets I have moulds and have cast to be used.
http://i40.tinypic.com/vsjjah.jpg

Here is my problem, if it is a problem. When I use the criteria in the first picture for seating the bullets, I end up with a COL of 1.147 for the 200 grain bullet and 1.175 for the 230 grain bullet. On this forum and in others I've read some posters that say anytime the COL is below 1.20 that there is almost always problems. I've seen some say never go below 1.230 for reliability. Yet, I've seen some say they seat as low as 1.160 with no problems. I'm aware of pressure issues but I've loaded a dozen each of these bullets with 4.9 grains of Bullseye and crimped with a Lee FCD for testing. I've manually cycled these rounds through the gun with no problems but won't be shooting them until later this week.

So......is the method of using the barrel as a depth gauge for COL a safe method and is there anything I need to consider before shooting these rounds?

captaint
04-26-2010, 11:33 PM
Gohon - Don't get too sweaty yet. First, I'm not sure the boolit pictured on the left is the ideal boolit to experiment with. So go with the 230 gr TL boolit. I,personally load to around 1.250 COL for MY 1911. Works for me. As long as your loaded rounds end up looking like the two center pic's, you'll be ok, proveded you have no magazine issues. Try loading some of that TL boolit, make sure the rounds drop in the chamber and look like the pic's.... Go shooting. Please report back. Interested to hear how things work out. enjoy Mike

giz189
04-26-2010, 11:38 PM