PDA

View Full Version : 44 mag heavies

boomboy
04-25-2010, 02:16 AM
So I am still new to casting but am ready to move up from my lee molds. Also I want a heavy bullet with a bigger meplat for my blackhawk.
I was looking at the Mp molds 44 mag/444 Marlin 295gr to 305gr cramer style
Being able to cast hp or fn really appeled to me.
I guess my question is
1. Are there any other molds compariable to the Mp?
2. Any one used these, comments?
3. Where can I find a set, his e-shop sayhs out of stock and shipping to commiefornia would probably be horrible.

Thanks guys
Steve

sagacious
04-25-2010, 03:47 AM
Isn't the LEE C430-310-RF similar in design to the MP mold you're considering? It's not a fp/hp convertible mold, but I thought both had about the same meplat size, both are gc, both have multiple crimp grooves, and both have one large lube groove. The LEE 310 is very accurate from my revolvers and carbine.

Seems also that shipping shouldn't be more than $5-10, unless the mold will not fit into a USPS flat-rate box. But whatever the cost of shipping is, it's of very little consequence, as you'll be producing your cast bullets almost free of cost. Good luck.

Matt_G
04-25-2010, 09:18 AM
1. Are there any other molds compariable to the Mp?
I don't know of anyone else making two cavity cramer style moulds made out of brass with reversible pins.

2. Any one used these, comments?
I have Miha's H&G 503 two cavity cramer style for 44's. It's probably the finest made mould I have ever had the pleasure of casting with. This style is so easy to cast with. I can cast HP's dang near as fast as I can cast non HP's out of any other DC mould I own. I'm on the list for three more moulds from Miha so that is a good indication of what I think of his work.

3. Where can I find a set, his e-shop sayhs out of stock and shipping to commiefornia would probably be horrible.