PDA

View Full Version : Cross bolt question ??

BSkerj
04-23-2010, 11:53 PM
I have been looking at a model 94 45/70..it is a used rifle but in good shape. Shop owner mentioned something about a cross bolt??? I am new to levers, is this good or bad ? and why ?...by the way he was asking 425.00.Thanks for all the knowledge you guys bring here

:wink::drinks:

crazy mark
04-24-2010, 12:05 AM
cross bolt safety. No half cock safety. lawyer proof gun so to speak. Takes a while to get used to the safety. Some people just remove them.

Lead Fred
04-24-2010, 12:48 AM
I just dont pay my CBS no mind.

I clicked it once, to see if it worked. It just sits there doing nothing.

winelover
04-24-2010, 07:42 AM
I put a tru-arc retaining ring on mine--keeps it from inadvertently being applied---can be removed any time you want and no one is the wiser.:bigsmyl2:

Winelover

jlchucker
04-24-2010, 08:48 AM
Hey, Crazy Mark--the Marlins with cross-bolt safety that I've owned still had the half-cock. I just put the safety button on "fire" and continued using those leverguns the way those models had been used for over a hundred years. Have they dropped the half-cock recently? All of my guns with the button had been at least 10 years old.

218bee
04-24-2010, 09:09 AM
when those first came out I saw where someone has a kit to remove them and replace with a screw. Probably have to tap receiver wall though. If ya search I would think ya could find it if ya dont want it. Mine just stays in fire position

crabo
04-24-2010, 10:05 AM
I put a tru-arc retaining ring on mine--keeps it from inadvertently being applied---can be removed any time you want and no one is the wiser.:bigsmyl2:

Winelover

Do you have a picture of this? I am not sure what the tru-arc retaining ring looks like.

jh45gun
04-24-2010, 10:35 AM