PDA

View Full Version : Link to WW compostion test

trooperdan
04-21-2010, 01:30 PM
Hi Guys,

A poster on the CMP site had one of his ingots of WW tested by his girlfriend..What a gal! Here is a link to the results. I was a bit concerned about the amount of Cadmium!

http://www.thecmp.org/forums/showthread.php?t=13801

cbrick
04-21-2010, 01:49 PM
By X-Ray Fluorescence test.

Lead - 93.180%
Antimony - 2.134%
Tantalum - 1.411%
Tin - .929%
Cadmium - .802%
Erbium - .704%
Holmium - .689%
Iron - .132% ( I assume this is residual from the steel clips )

No doubt there is some variation from manufacturer to manufacturer and in different parts of the country but this is probably a reasonably close average, at least close for boolit making.

I blend the ingots from different batches of WW together to make as large a batch of consistent alloy as possible. When I add 15 or 20 pounds of alloy to the 40 pound Magma pot I have a fair degree of confidence that the alloy in my pot didn't change much.

Rick

ph4570
04-21-2010, 01:53 PM
I was surprised to see the tantalum and at such a relatively high percentage. That stuff is not cheap. Wonder why it is in WW.

GLL
04-21-2010, 02:25 PM
I find the testing results VERY curious !

The high % of tantalum, holmium, and erbium make those wheel weights a great mining source !!! :) :)

Those elements are rare in the earth's crust and the Rare Earth Elements are expensive !

Forget the tin, antimony, and lead ! I want a mountain of those WW for the "etc." though!

Jerry

cbrick
04-21-2010, 03:00 PM
Jerry, pretty doubtful that those elements were put in the alloy for the benefit of wheel weights but rather in whatever scrap metal the weight's were made from.

That's why I said "variation from manufacturer to manufacturer and in different parts of the country".

I'm not a metalurgist and I know nothing about an X-Ray Fluorescence test but that sounds like as good a SWAG as any.

Rick

rhead
04-21-2010, 07:15 PM