PDA

View Full Version : Weighing Powder

Cherokee
04-19-2010, 12:09 PM
Long post. Looking for some insight. I've been reloading since 1957. Started with a beam powder scale from Redding, then switched to a Lyman beam scale until about 1998 or so when I bought a PACT electronic scale. I always used the scale to set my powder measures for specific charges. Vast majority of my loading data was developed with the Lyman beam scale, which I found out weighed a specific charge slightly (1-2%) less than the PACT. I retested the old data (that I was still using) with the PACT data and all was OK. Have developed new data using the PACT as the "standard". Then the PACT went flakey in January and I sent it back to PACT. While waiting I bought another electronic scale from Midway. Got the PACT back after a month and now all three of my scales give me different weights. Using the 20 gram check weight, which should be 308.8 grains, I get 303 on the Lyman, 308.3 on the cheap Midway and 309.1 on the repaired PACT (when it settles down enough to give me a consistent reading). When I get down to the more practical levels, 7-42 grains, I get extreme variances between the 3 of 7%. I am having a problem with confidence in either of these scales. Most of my data is not pushing Max but some is close enough that I don't want to get any closer and a few are Max. I guess my question is how do you develop trust in your weighing device, or do you have any comments to help.

littlejack
04-19-2010, 03:46 PM
Cherokee: