PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to casting and need a lube recommendation

Centaur 1
04-19-2010, 11:46 AM
Hey guys, love the site. I had mixed results yesterday with my first cast bullets. The success that I had was with a Lee 356-125-2R, I tumble lubed them and tried two different loads using bullseye and unique. I couldn't tell the difference between the two when I shot them from a 9mm AR-15. Both were as accurate as factory loads with less recoil and no barrel leading.

My problem child was with using a Lee C309-150-F in my Marlin 336ss in 30-30. I also tried tumble lubing which didn't seem to work well. I'm using range lead that is about 60% cast bullets and 40% jacketed bullets, and I don't know how hard the alloy is. My barrel slugs at exactly .308 and the mold is producing bullets that are .309. I also reamed the gas check step with a .3115 reamer and I left enough of the step to act as another lube groove, so my bullets have a driving band that's .311. I tried two different loads, one used 8.2 grains of unique and the other used 9 grains. Accuracy with this bullet was horrible, I'm talking 6" patterns at 25 feet. The barrel was packed with lead, but mostly just in the front end of the barrel with no leading for the first half. I'm assuming that this points toward a lube problem and I'm probably expecting to much from the Alox. Since I don't have any fancy equipment to lube bullets with and I can't afford to buy any, I was hoping to pan lube. With the setup that I'm using can someone make a recommendation for a pan lube. Also let me know if this sounds like a bad load.

Thanks for any and all advice.............Mike

Ben
04-19-2010, 12:53 PM
Mike :

You may have more than one problem with your Marlin 336. Some of those guns do their best with bullets in the .310 - .311 size range.

Did you mention the method that you're using to get a " flare " on the end of the case mouth prior to seating your cast bullets ?