PDA

View Full Version : Help with a Mauser bore

SciFiJim
04-18-2010, 10:50 PM
I have a 8mm Turk mauser that I purchased recently and am starting to clean up. These pictures of the bore are after approx. 100 patches of Hoppes #9. I am still getting black on the patches. I am new to milsurp and for that matter looking down rifle bores. Can you tell me what I am looking at? Is this dirt, carbon, pitting, or something else?

http://i596.photobucket.com/albums/tt47/SciFiJim_photobucket/MauserBarrel1.jpg

http://i596.photobucket.com/albums/tt47/SciFiJim_photobucket/MauserBarrel2.jpg

TCLouis
04-18-2010, 11:10 PM
As far as I can tell the bore looks pretty good. If you can do the foaming bore cleaners and leave it in there for a couple of hours. If the can has extended tubing apply from the chamber.

Repeat several times and then see what happens with "normal" bore cleaners.

Sounds almost like what you have is old grease to preser4ve the bore.

SciFiJim
04-18-2010, 11:17 PM
The old grease is a possibility. The bolt was still filled with cosmoline. I took it apart and poured boiling water on and through it to melt the cosmoline away. Do I need to use a grease in the bolt or is gun oil sufficient?

Multigunner
04-18-2010, 11:39 PM
Probably an agregate of carbon, atomized lead, and graphite.
It will come out but not easily,
When I have one with thick deposits in the grooves I generally clean it as well as possible using balistol and bronze brushes, often wearing out several brushes, then shoot three to five rounds to warm the bore and clean again, repeating the last steps several times.
In the old days I often found it took several range secessions with two or more cleaning breaks each time before the old deposits were completely gone.