PDA

View Full Version : Making a good hard lube

Colorado4wheel
04-18-2010, 09:36 PM
Seems I find a lot of lube formulas for softer lubes. Admitedly, I am new with all this stuff but I have had good luck with Magmas lube which is a 120F or so lube. I like it's low stick ratio. I ordered some more but they are really slow to deliver. I would prefer to make my own and save money and having to order from someone. Anyone have a good recipe for something thats hard like Magma or Blue Angel?

357maximum
04-18-2010, 10:39 PM
Start with a base of 50/50 Beeswax/paraffin and add only enough vaseline to it to make you happy(keep notes)...............it can be that easy as long as you are not trying to go over 1600fps in a rifle barrel.....at that point you will likely need a better(softer/slicker) lube.

buck1
04-18-2010, 11:36 PM
I used to be a fan of hard lubes , untill I used softer lubes. I never looked back.
But if its hard lube you want the above recipe should do ya.

MtGun44
04-19-2010, 12:04 AM
IMHO the concept of "good" can't be applied to hard lubes.

At best - "marginally usable". I shoot lots and lots of commercial boolits with
hard lubes, and they do work. Kinda marginal, slight leading all the time, mediocre
accuracy at best - horrible accy in all the rifles that I have tried hardlube commercial
boolits.

I do understand that customers want a non-messy lube, esp if shipped in the summer
where the soft can melt in heat of a truck in the sun. A commercial necessity does not
make it a good lube.

fredj338
04-19-2010, 02:22 AM
IMO, the White Label lubes are tough to beat for the money. Like 1/2 the price of the Magma & IMO, better quality. Just buy the CarnubaRed, it needs about 90deg or so to flow. If you want to make your own, I had good success using the left over Magma mixed 50/50 w/ beeswax & a tsp of LLA/4oz of the 50/50. Therecipe from 357max will work, watch the amount of vaseline to get the consisancy you want.

Colorado4wheel
04-19-2010, 09:09 AM