PDA

View Full Version : Ruger No. 1 45-70

Leadmine
07-18-2006, 07:13 AM
I was thinking about a buying a Ruger #1 in 45-70. I'm new to both rifle and cartridge. I'm looking for help with your opinions on both.

I'd like to get a nice 45-70. It doesn't have to be a No. 1 but after looking at whats out there, it seems to be the closest to meet my needs. My question is, are they accurate with 45-70? If not, is there another rifle that you folks can suggest in the same price range?

Also what seems to be the best cast bullet to use in these rifles? I'm looking mostly for good accuracy, but there is a good chance I would hunt with it too.

Thanks for your help!

45 2.1
07-18-2006, 07:33 AM
The Ruger #1 in this caliber is very nice. With just the iron sights, it is a very nice stalking rifle. Fatter boolits are better with this rifle also. Loaded correctly, there are no flies on accuracy in this rifle. We are running a group buy for a 0.461" diameter 360 gr. boolit that should be excellent in this rifle.

Dale53
07-18-2006, 11:24 AM
I have a Ruger #3 in 45/70. The #3 is no longer produced. They are both VERY light for the caliber. That is great for carrying but not so good for shooting. I suggest a really good recoil pad. They are both so strong (as strong as a good bolt gun) that quite possibly, recoil will determine your top smokeless loads as opposed to pressure.

The early Rugers had an adjustable trigger. The new ones are too heavy. However, you can buy either an adjustable trigger (similar to the early factory ones) or a single set trigger. Both are available from Brownell's.

They are both drilled and tapped for scopes. You can also fit an aperture sight, if you prefer. I have age induced poor eyesight so a scope is preferable for me.

These are fine rifles for reasonable prices.

Good luck!
Dale53

fourarmed
07-18-2006, 11:48 AM