PDA

View Full Version : Small problem: Tearing of bullet base at sprue

Green_Canoe
04-14-2010, 11:13 AM
I'm new to casting and had very good luck with my first attempt, casting 425 grain Lyman .50 cal bullet for a .50-70 out of 30-1 lead.

Now I am casting 250 grain .45 bullets in a double cavity Lyman mould out of some scrounged lead. My lead mix was 1 part Lino, 2 parts range reclaim lead, and 3 parts pure lead.

I filled both cavities and left a sprue puddle that was just big enough to connect the two cavities. Once the puddle frosted over I counted to 8 seconds roughly and opened the sprue plate and dumped the bullet.

The problem is when I inspected thebullets later on it looked as if I'd torn the sprue out by the roots rather than getting the nice clean shear I'd gotten with .50 cal. bullets. The bullets look fine otherwise. What can I do to fix this?

Wayne Smith
04-14-2010, 11:17 AM
Wait a little longer before cutting the sprue. You may want to switch to using two molds if you are casting that hot that the sprue isn't firm at a count of 8. Pour one mold, put it down, pour the other, put it down, cut and dump the first, etc. Should give enough time for your sprues to harden.

felix
04-14-2010, 11:20 AM
When the sprue changes color, from shiny to dull, that's the time to open the plate. ... felix

Calamity Jake
04-14-2010, 11:34 AM
Also check the sharpness of the spru hole, that can cause tearing too.

Trey45
04-14-2010, 11:45 AM
All good advice above, something that a few of the guys here do is wet an old towell and put the mold on it sprue plate first to harden the puddle faster, I've never tried it myself, but from what I've read here and other places, it gives a nice sharp cut of the sprues with less lead smears and less base tearing. If all else fails, you might want to give it a shot and see if it works for you.

DLCTEX
04-14-2010, 11:51 AM