PDA

View Full Version : Can Anything Be Done With Blanks?

Gray Fox
04-10-2010, 08:16 PM
I have been offered several K of 7.62 and 5.56 mm blanks FREE in 20 round boxes. Is there anything that could be done with them? Could the crimped ends be cut off, the powder discarded (I think I have read somewhere here this powder is not good for traditional loads--?) and then the primed brass be trimmed to normal "trim to" dimensions? I know it would be labor intensive if possible at all, but given the current price of new brass and primers I hope something is possible. All comments will be appreciated.

Shiloh
04-10-2010, 08:58 PM
You're right about the powder. Way to fast for ANY load.
I was told that the crimp folds would not take being sized and loaded. I have no personal experience with this though.

Shiloh

koehn,jim
04-10-2010, 09:30 PM
I have reloaded several hundred 06 blanks and had very good luck with case life. I removed the powder and soaked the case in liguid than decapped them and reamed the primer pocket. I use a large phillips screw driver to open the end size and trim. I use them for cast loads because many are seconds . The canadian seem to work the best. Good luck.

jhrosier
04-10-2010, 09:46 PM
I have formed several hundred 300 Whisper cases from 5.56 blanks.
They could also be used for .221 Fireball.
The 7.62 blanks might be long enough to make .300 Savage after the crimp was cut off.
Aside from that, either would be good noisemakers for Independance Day.

Jack

Doc1
04-10-2010, 09:57 PM
Several years ago I was given a few hundred 7.62 NATO Israeli "blanks." These blanks had wooden bullets, contained extremely fast (by burn test) powder and were boxer-primed. Unlike normal blanks, because of the wooden bullet, they had uncrimped necks.