PDA

View Full Version : New Lee Mold

Howa243
04-07-2010, 10:48 AM
I' a real newbie here, and I may ask some dumb questions.
I just recieved a new Lee 6 bullet 9mm bullet and I need to know if I should use any kind of a release agent before I start casting?
Like I say I'm a newbie, kind answers will be appreciated.

:oops::oops:

theperfessor
04-07-2010, 11:02 AM
I've never used a release agent of any type and my Lees work fine after a little judicious preparation (cleaning and light deburring). But I would recommend getting hold of some Bullplate lube and using it according to the directions.

DO NOT follow Lee's instructions on lubing their molds with bullet lube. You will end up with a gunky mess that will bake on and actually tie up the sprue plate and make it hard to operate after a while. Bullplate is the only way to go.

EDIT: By the way, welcome to the best site on the Net. A lot of people here will be glad to help you.

HORNET
04-07-2010, 11:18 AM
I'll agree with theperfesor's post and add that you might want to go to the Classics & Stickies section and read the threads on "Lee-menting" for reference. Check out the link to the Goatlips Casting Pages while you're there. First step is going to be to make sure the mold is clean. Soak it overnight in some mineral spirits then boil it with some dish detergent to get the remnants of the cutting fluid/ preservatives off. Check for burrs with a magnifier, get it hot and give it try. Lots of help available if you do a search on here and ask for help if you need it.
Welcome to the slippery slope of lead addiction...[smilie=w::bigsmyl2:

dragonrider
04-07-2010, 11:38 AM
A release agent will only make your boolits look bad, dirty. A properly Leemented mold does not need it. Read the "stickies" called "Leementing".

deerslayer
04-07-2010, 12:13 PM