PDA

View Full Version : Savage 99G 300 Savage

JudgeBAC
07-12-2006, 08:06 AM
I have acquired a 99G Savage take down in .300 Savage. I have no experience with this caliber or with a 99. Any helpful hints on loads, powders, bullets etc. Any favorite molds for this caliber?

versifier
07-12-2006, 01:28 PM
Judge,
One note on the takedowns: the threads are very easily damaged. I would reccomend that you resist temptation and not take it apart, especially considering its value, and if you do, take extreme care with it. I have seen three of these over the years whose overenthusiastic owners disassembled just to check them out. One was repairable and is still functional, one is usable but no longer a take-down, and one was so screwed up that its now sobered owner was left with a parts gun (and several of his own footprints on the seat of his pants where he has been kicking himself ever since). :(

The .300 Sav is a great deer and paper punching cartridge. The short neck requires a little more care than one would normally need to take when seating boolits or bullets, but is no big deal to an experienced loader. One of the biggest advantages of the 99 over other lever actions is that it is not restricted to flat-nosed bullets by a tubular magazine. (Like with any other .30cal, I would start with some soupcans and RE-7 and work up from there until you have found what it likes best.) I have so far not had a lot of luck with it using long heavy bullets and usually concentrate on loads with 125 and 150 gr bullets for deer hunting. The owner of the one I am loading for now I have not yet been able to convince to try cast, but I think he's finally weakening. :) IMR 3031 has given me great results in it, along with the above mentioned RE-7 and also IMR 4064 has shown promise, but frankly the results with the first two have been so good that it's been put on the back burner.

Larry Gibson
07-12-2006, 03:33 PM