PDA

View Full Version : 358009 Expansion Test

richhodg66
03-31-2010, 02:24 PM
I have cast a batch of these using wheel weights with 2 ounces of 95/5 solder thrown in per ten pound pot. I plan on shooting these with 49-51 grains of RL-15 (still developing loads, but this range seems promising so far).

Since this is to be a deer hunting load, I want to do some expansion testing, so I'm rounding up newsprint to try it this weekend. Anybody have an idea how many feet of wet newspaper I can expect this to penetrate? This is going to be a certain amount of trouble, so I want to make sure I have enough to recover the bullets but at the same time want to minimize the mess I have to police up afterwards.

I've never done this before, by the way. If anyone has some words of wisdom about how to conduct a good test of hunting bullet expansion, I'm all ears.

waksupi
03-31-2010, 03:30 PM
Well, the 358009 isn't going to expand on something as flimsy as a deer. Take it from me, they will kill just fine, without a lot of extra fuss on your part.
Not sure how much paper you will need, but I can tell you it will penetrate 3/4" steel at 200 yards.

Blammer
03-31-2010, 03:39 PM
I'd have at least 5 feet thick of wet paper.

JDL
03-31-2010, 04:12 PM
The 250 grain 358318 ww alloy wasn't stopped in 21" of wet newsprint with a starting velocity of 1899 fps. I also tested a .35 cal. 220 grain FN (.20" meplat) started at 2060 fps and it penetrated 21.5".
JDL

jtaylor1960
03-31-2010, 06:43 PM
I thought of using that bullet in my 35 Whelen for deer this year.I am anxious to here of your results.Good Luck.

waksupi
03-31-2010, 06:55 PM
JT, they work just fine on deer, bear, moose, elk, and buffalo.

jtaylor1960
03-31-2010, 09:35 PM
What alloy do you use on deer? I have WW+tin and some Lyman #2.

richhodg66
03-31-2010, 10:40 PM