PDA

View Full Version : Paper thickness vs groove depth?

RMulhern
03-30-2010, 10:26 AM
In order to shed more light upon Paper Patching, for some of those interested it might be beneficial to know about paper thickness vs groove depth! In other words let's, for the sake of supposition say one is using a paper thickness of .0015" thereby giving with two wraps around the bullet a total thickness of .003" per side but since groove depth on our rifles usually runs around a depth of .004" the question to be answered is......will the paper not be thick enough to protect the barrel from being 'leaded'??:shock::shock:

Dan Cash
03-30-2010, 10:47 AM
Ray,
I am just getting started paper patching after having thought the process to death. My thanks to you for your inciteful observations and suggestions here and on other forums which we frequent.

Regarding this proposition, I wonder if the paper is not distorted and thinned as the rifling presses into it rather than being cut or torn to the degree that the lead comes in contact with the barrel? You posed the question; have you made any perliminary observations?
Dan

martinibelgian
03-30-2010, 12:57 PM
There's one way to find out - and that's t try it. Just let us know what the results are :)

45 2.1
03-30-2010, 01:44 PM
In order to shed more light upon Paper Patching, for some of those interested it might be beneficial to know about paper thickness vs groove depth! In other words let's, for the sake of supposition say one is using a paper thickness of .0015" thereby giving with two wraps around the bullet a total thickness of .003" per side but since groove depth on our rifles usually runs around a depth of .004" the question to be answered is......will the paper not be thick enough to protect the barrel from being 'leaded'??:shock::shock: