PDA

View Full Version : .38/.357 Cast Bullet Accuracy in Rifles?

dovehunter
03-26-2010, 01:47 PM
I am new to CB and hope I have posted this inquiry in the right forum. I recently got a .38/.357 accessory barrel for my NEF Handi-Rifle. Without going into too much detail, it seems to shoot fine with factory or handloaded jacketed bullet loads but shoots all over the place (I can barely keep them on the target) with the commercial .357 158 gr. LSWC bullets that I have been using. This at only 50-yds. Someone told me the barrel may be oversize and I needed to slug the barrel to determine the groove diameter. I did this using a 1/4 oz. egg fishing sinker (which worked great incidentally) driven from muzzle to breech. I measured the slug in several places carefully with my micrometer and came up with a diameter of essentially .356". The cast bullets I had been using miked out at .357". The jacket bullets I have been using - Hornady 125 XTP hollow points - miked out a .356". Before slugging the barrel I had thought about getting a small quantity (maybe 100 each) of commercial bullets sized to .358" and/or .359". However with the bore slugging out a .356" I wonder if this would be wise. I'd like to be able shoot cast bullets in this barrel if I can because they are cheaper and I'd hoped to be able to use the combo for relatively small game. What do you think I should do? Thanks in advance for any help anyone can give me.

Blammer
03-26-2010, 01:52 PM
you're 357 dia lead bullets should be fine.

I'm curious as to what powder and charge you are using with the lead bullets. I've found the powder to be a big player in accuracy in my 357mag lever gun.

Additionally, the lube that is on the factory bullets may not be sufficient for the rifle brl lenght.

I would clean the barrel from as much copper fouling as possible, then put a light coat of oil in the brl followed by a damp oiled patch, to push out the extra, then shoot your lead bullets in it.